Twin Corina Larks Double Decked Vintage Boxes

These two identical boxes were sent to me to be repurposed into fountain pen storage.  They are made of Spanish cedar and were very, very dried out.  I was not certain that I could do much with them, but with the backing of their owner, I cleaned them with mineral spirits and a soft cloth, then applied four coats of Minwax polyurethane varnish.  That dry wood just sucked the varnish in like a sponge for the first two coats!  I was careful to apply varnish to both sides of any surface to avoid warping.  I used the interior liners to create double decked trays and lined the trays and covered the dividers with wine red microfibre suede cloth.  I aimed for a sort of rustic look rather than a jewelry box style, and I think they worked out rather well.

 

 

Leave a Reply

