Desk sets from an estate sale

I noticed an estate sale listing in my home town, Dothan, Alabama, and saw some pictures that seemed to include some desk set bases.  I contacted the auction company and they verified that I was correct.  Since my sister still lives there, I commissioned her as my agent to go to the sale when it opened a few days later.

That morning, she sent cell phone pictures that showed some interesting desk set bases, so we agreed on the ones to purchase, which included a box for $5 with several in it.  The loot arrived here a couple of days ago and I found five Sheaffer bases and two by unknown makers, plus one Sheaffer pen.  Not bad!

They were all quite dirty, but a few hours’ work with some Simichrome and marble polish and they look much better.

The quirky Art Deco clear glass base with Empire State Building style chrome trim pieces is probably my favorite of the bunch.  Here are the pictures:

Leave a Reply

