Another Charles H. Ingersoll Dollar Pen Restoration

Back in January, 2014, in this post,  I wrote about finding a strange-looking pen in a parts box and learning that it was a product of the Charles H. Ingersoll Dollar Pen Company.  I also described its unusual twist-filler system and showed what was necessary to restore it to working order.

Since then, I learned more about the company and in this post I showed their second generation “dollar” pen, this time made of that new-fangled material, celluloid.  It too had a twist-filler system, but was more upscale than the all-metal first generation pens, which by the way continued to be made at the $1.00 price point.  Some of the new celluloid models sold for as much as $2.50, and that Chinese Red example was probably one of the high priced pens.

Recently I purchased a third Ingersoll pen, also a celluloid model of about the same vintage as the Chinese Red one.  This one, however, is black and is an overall smaller pen, so probably represents the $1.50 price point in the product line.  It was offered for a bargain price because its trademark 14K gold nib was cracked right down the middle. Fortunately I already had a suitable replacement nib, so I bought it.

When I received the pen I found that it was in quite good condition.  Other than the ruined nib, the only other item requiring attention was the ink sac, which in a pen of this age, is a common problem.

I dismantled the pen and cleaned every component.  Here are all the parts, with the twist filler knob (actually an upholstery tack) on the lower right:

Black Celluloid Ingersoll disassembled

I knocked out the nib and feed from the section, then fitted a new ink sac between the nipple and the black rubber plug, attaching the sac to both with shellac.  Then I reassembled the section, ink sac, and twist filler knob using the same procedure that I described in the original post.  After that I re-seated the nib and feed into the section.

The final step was purely cosmetic – I polished the barrel, cap and clip with Renaissance Micro-Crystalline wax and the pen is essentially like new.

Click on any image below to open the gallery and see full-sized images.

One thought on “Another Charles H. Ingersoll Dollar Pen Restoration

  1. Pingback: Restoring a 3rd Generation Charles H Ingersoll Dollar Pen | Cigar Box Pen Storage

Leave a Reply

